Top picks of Mindful videos. 

So you may have already realised that I am a big fan of mindfulness mediation. I started three years ago when I was anxious and everything around me was loud. Just loud. I felt suffocated by the amount of noise both in my surrounding and in my head. That’s when I discovered mindfulness and sought out a way to relive this tension. So here are my five picks for anyone starting to get into mindfulness. I found that these all played different roles in harmony with each other so they may not all be the same kind of thing. Mindful concept and presentation does not have to be the traditional way anymore. We can use modern and effective techniques to re connect with ourselves. 

1. Headspace. 

Headspace.com

Headspace is an app that guides users to health and happiness through mindful mediation. Headspace brings together science and mindfulness mediation through combining both artistic experiences with scientific benefits. For just ten minutes a day (usually in the morning) I found that my mind was so much more calmer and I became a lot more self aware. Breathing exercises can really refresh your mind and body and I really find Andy puddicomes voice to be soothing. And personally I think it’s hard to follow a voice so when you do make that connection you kind of stick to it. Their are endless benefits on their app and I also found their YouTube channel to be inspiring and thoughtful. 


2. The school of Self. 

Youtube. 

Opposite to this, sometimes you don’t want anyone talking to you. You simply want to breathe and be aware on your own and in your own mind without so much as an utter of a word. And this is where The School of Self comes in and sweeps you away. Their YouTube channel is a collection of interesting videos but my favourite one is the easy ten minute breathing exercise 


It is just you and the music. It follows a sooothing rhythm, similar to the breath and it just lets you think on your own. Without any other distractions. For me, I did this after I had learnt about mindfulness so I already knew what the steps were to getting to a different mindset so I do recommend listening to a few mindfulness meditation practitioners before embarking on your own. Unless you want to do that then by all means breathe away! 

  3. Shots of awe. 

YouTube. 

Inspired, motivated and slightly crazy, shots of awe literally takes you to the most tantalising of mind spaces. Jason Silvia has continued to motivate me and take me to different dimensions of thought since two years ago. His vivid imaginations are captured in the way he produces his imagery and makes his videos. And whenever I have been feeling bored or uninspired, Jason never fails. His train of thought is something I have never witnesssed before and his way of thinking is amazing for consciousness and mindful inquiry or enquiry of the mind. He voices in small essays, his thoughts on technology, travel, and  art all the same embedding consciousness and mind. 

So all of these have contributed to human roots in a way that I can’t really explain. It made me realise what I wanted in life and what I didn’t want. My interests and my mind are fundamental vital in change and this filtered towards The Anthropocene and the environment and becoming more self aware of how our actions can effect ourselves, our ethics and our choices. 

3 thoughts on “Top picks of Mindful videos. 

  1. Great stuff Fatima, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like you I am a big supporter of headspace. It’s my go to meditation app and I love the variety of the app, from guided to unguided meditations and variations of length. I also really like that they have SOS and sleep programs. Andy talks through the benefits of meditation really well and the animated videos act as great visuals to demonstrate the need for mindfulness in our busy lives.

    I’ve not heard of the other two you have mentioned and will have to check them out!

    Loving the content, keep doing what you’re doing 🙂

    PS – On a related note, I’m on the hunt for feedback for my new show The HERO Podcast! It’s all about creating healthy habit. The episode with Derek Doepker may be of interest to you where he discusses how to make lasting changes. You can check it out (and maybe leave a short review if you like) here: http://apple.co/2kjNoGN

    Like

    • Hi Luke! Thank you so much for your lovely comment! It’s nice to know someone else also thinks headspace is an amazing tool of mindfulness. Yes! Really enjoy the animations and visuals too! Of course, I will definetly have a look at your podcasts! I’ve been meaning to listen to a podcast for a while now so perfect timing! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

